Teenagers Reading

research for my PhD thesis

Focus groups with teenagers

with 2 comments

I’ve been holding focus groups with students at local Perth high schools. I’m investigating teenagers’ opinions on reading, libraries and graphic novels. I am the moderator and I’m using a guide with ground rules and discussion points, which is available online. The discussion is allowed to go onto other topics if this happens.

I take along about ten graphic novels to show the participants what they are and what is available in the format. The right-to-left manga is of particular interest to many students as some have never seen it and find it strange.

I’ve completed five sessions and I still have two more to go. The groups have comprised between five and seven students, from the ages 13 to 15. I’ve enjoyed talking to teenagers and our discussions have been enlightening. I’m accumulating a mass of data which I now have to transcribe and analyze.

Written by ClareSnow

13 November 2006 at 1:07 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] library. At first I was just going to talk to public librarians, but after going to schools for the focus groups I realised I want to talk to school librarians as […]

  2. […] the recordings and the amount of data I’ve amassed seems daunting. But as with the focus groups, once I’ve coded it in Nvivo it’ll be a lot easier to deal with (computers make things so […]


Leave a Reply

