Of ceiling wax and cabbages

YA, graphic novels and the spaces in between

What exactly is ceiling wax?

with 2 comments

The Walrus and the Carpenter illustrated by John Tenniel And what is it doing here!? I think it might be wax that drips from the ceiling. I’ve never actually seen any, but I heard a lot about it as a 12 year old listening over and over to a recording of Alice through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll. More to the point, why has this blog suddenly become about such a strange substance? And cabbages, where did they come from? The same place as the ceiling wax.

’I weep for you,’ the Walrus said:
‘I deeply sympathize.’
With sobs and tears he sorted out
Those of the largest size.

As that 12 year old I could reel off “The Walrus and the Carpenter” (sad, I know) and parts of it are still stuck somewhere in the dark recesses of my brain (those seven maids with mops), as is the first stanza of “The Jabberwocky“. I did think ceiling wax sounded odd, but the world was full of strange things back then, especially when you went through a looking-glass.

Back to why is this tangent even here? Once you pass your thesis, many changes come about. Excuse me!? Have we stepped into a parallel universe? Don’t get too excited, I have some slight revisions and then it’ll be googleable for all the world to be bored by. I really don’t recommend you sit down (or even stand up) and read a thesis. Parts of my thesis are in the publishing machinations of various journals and I’ll blog about some tasty thesis morsels, from which you can then go to the original if you really want the torture, or unending references.

So in between bits of thesis and bits of graphic novels and bits of YA I just read, or just landed in my letter box (I discovered the magical practice of receiving parcels of free books) to choose from to blog about, there has been much excitement. And I thought some name changing was in order, with ceiling wax sounding good. URL changage is unlikely to happen, but I’m pretty sure ceiling-wax.com hasn’t had many takers and if I added the cabbages…

To prove the thesis hasn’t fallen right out the window (where there’s a pond into which it could sink), the June issue of Incite had the theme Research, so I wrote about how I improved my survey response rate, highly absorbing stuff, as found by my mother. She hadn’t realized I’d done so much work – wasn’t just sitting around enjoying my scholarship. I recommend you download this pdf of my article. Thanks to Mr Shaddow, it looks way better than the original. Oh how I wish I submitted it like this. Repeat after me: there will be no cease and desist letter.

Citation

Snowball, Clare (2010) “How to Improve Survey Response RatesIncite, vol.31, no.6, p.24.

post this to Digg post this to StumbleUpon post this to reddit bookmark this on DeliciousDelicious

Written by ClareSnow

20 June 2010 at 12:36 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s sealing wax. Used for either a) polishing pet seals or b) sealing letters so the post man can’t have a quick read.

    But I like your version. I imagine seven maids with seven mops waxing the ceiling.

    ian-b

    2 July 2010 at 6:24 pm

  2. So that’s what “ceiling wax” “sealing wax” is. My next informal quest shall be, “German Paper Hangers.”

    Robert O'Brien

    25 December 2011 at 1:51 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

